STICKY RICE PUDDING

Standard

Here we go again with another recipe: STICKY RICE PUDDING.
I really dunno where this food originates from, but I’m very sure it is eaten by the white people. When I was going through the recipe, I realised it is veeeeery easy to cook, and it doesn’t take much time at all. I tried it out myself and really enjoyed it, so I decided to share it with you guys, at least you’d all be able to try something new out. We nigerians eat rice almost every day. This is also rice, but its rice in another kinda form. Here it is!.
SERVES 6.
INGREDIENTS:
200g short-grain rice.
2 x 400ml cans of sweetened coconut milk.
Half can or 200ml water.
2 bananas, thinly sliced.
1 mango, chopped.
1 fresh pawpaw, chopped.
2 sticks of lemon grass, bashed.
Half/ 1 whole fresh coconut (depends on how you want it).

METHOD OF PREPARATION:
Place three sheets of wide foil on top of each other,
Bend up the sides and pour in the rice (first), coconut milk and water.
Stir in the banana, mango and pawpaw,
Then add the lemon grass.
Lastly shave in the coconut flesh, using a vegetable peeler.
Fold up all sides of the foil and squeeze tightly to make a secure parcel (or its quite sweet to do individual ones).
Place on the barbecue where the heat is consistent, not too hot.
Let the rice cook for about 45 minutes, until it is soft and sticky.
Feel free to open the parcel and give the rice a stir (but don’t over stir).
Alternatively, you can easily cook the pudding in an oven at gas mark 5/190 degrees celsius/375 degrees farenheit for 45 minutes.

If you’ve tried this out, don’t hesitate to share your views by commenting. Thank you. πŸ™‚

3 responses »

  1. Hi! One of the “white people” – hahaha – wondering if this recipe would work with brown rice and without the pawpaw (because I haven’t the faintest clue what that is and I live in northern Canada so I probably wouldn’t be able to find it!). Maybe I’ll just give it a whirl and see … perhaps the brown rice would work if I ground it first just like my ground rice pudding (to be published on Nov 14/13).

    • Hi ma’am. πŸ™‚ I’m sorry I’m just replying u. Actually, pawpaw is also known as papaya. And I don’t think this recipe is gonna come out good if you use brown rice. Mayb you should try it out if you insist and probably give me a reply to let me know if it worked out fine. Best of luck ma’am. Thank you πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: What Sammy Ate: Ground Rice Pudding | Dose Dependent

Leave a Reply

